Who is the New Lokpal Chairperson of India?

Who is the New Lokpal Chairperson of India
Who is the New Lokpal Chairperson of India

India has taken a significant step towards bolstering its anti-corruption efforts with the appointment of a new chairperson for the Lokpal, the nation’s apex body for investigating corruption cases within the public sector. This move comes nearly two years after the position became vacant, signaling a renewed focus on governance and accountability.

Who is the New Lokpal Chairperson of India?

The newly appointed Lokpal chairperson is none other than former Supreme Court Justice Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar. With a distinguished career in the judiciary, including a tenure as a Supreme Court judge from May 13, 2016, to July 29, 2022, Justice Khanwilkar brings a wealth of experience and a track record of landmark judgments to the Lokpal.

Oath Ceremony by President Droupadi Murmu

The oath of office was administered to Justice Khanwilkar by President Droupadi Murmu in a solemn ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan. This event not only underscored the significance of the Lokpal in India’s democratic framework but also marked the commencement of Justice Khanwilkar’s term as the chairperson of this crucial institution.

Judicial Background of Khanwilkar

Justice Khanwilkar’s judicial career is marked by his involvement in several constitution benches that have delivered important judgments shaping Indian law and society. Notable among these is the 2018 verdict decriminalizing consensual gay sex, which was heralded as a major step forward for LGBTQ+ rights in India. He was also part of the bench that upheld the constitutionality of the Aadhaar scheme, albeit with certain restrictions, and the bench that upheld the Special Investigation Team’s clean chit to then Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi in the 2002 riots case. His judicious insights and commitment to justice have earned him respect and admiration across the legal community.

What is the Composition of the Lokpal?

The Lokpal consists of a chairperson and eight members, evenly divided between judicial and non-judicial roles. The judicial members include prominent figures such as the former Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court, Ritu Raj Awasthi, and the former Chief Justices of Himachal Pradesh and Allahabad High Courts. The non-judicial members are esteemed former civil servants, bringing a balance of legal acumen and administrative experience to the body.

Lokpal Chairperson: What is the Selection Process?

The selection of the Lokpal chairperson and members involves a comprehensive process spearheaded by a Selection Committee chaired by the Prime Minister. The President of India makes the final appointments based on the committee’s recommendations, ensuring that only individuals of the highest integrity and capability are chosen to lead the Lokpal.

What are the Duties of Lokpal?

The Lokpal’s primary duty is to investigate allegations of corruption against public officials and entities within the Indian government. This includes a broad mandate to inquire into complaints, prosecute individuals and entities found guilty of corruption, and recommend measures to prevent corruption and improve the integrity of public administration. The Lokpal serves as a cornerstone of India’s commitment to transparent, accountable, and corruption-free governance.


The appointment of Justice Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar as the Lokpal chairperson is a pivotal moment in India’s ongoing efforts to combat corruption and enhance governance. With his deep judicial experience and a history of contributing to landmark judgments, Justice Khanwilkar is well-positioned to lead the Lokpal in fulfilling its crucial mandate. As India continues to navigate the challenges of governance in the 21st century, the Lokpal, under Justice Khanwilkar’s stewardship, will undoubtedly play a critical role in shaping a more accountable and transparent public sector

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *